Mt. Doom

I have to admit, I have only seen the first of the Lord of the Rings movies, and I thought it was so boring that I didn’t see the second and third ones. In college, my friends in my Shakespearean theatre group also tended to be really big LOTR fans, and I was invited to many a LOTR extended-edition screening, but I stuck to my guns and never attended.  Now I know I have to watch them: because today, I saw Mt. Doom.

Mt. Ngauruhoe, aka Mt. Doom, looking appropriately moody

According to Bob, director Peter Jackson sent members of his crew flying all over NZ, looking for an appropriate mountain to be used as Mt. Doom. I bet when someone saw this one, they said “That’s it!” and called off the search immediately.

Leave a Reply

